Skip to content
Pemba Eco Lodge

Bienvenue à

Pemba Lodge

Situé sur la belle île isolée de Shamiani, le Pemba Lodge est entouré par les eaux cristallines de l’océan Indien. Situé à une courte distance en bateau au sud de l’île principale, cet établissement est le premier véritable écolodge de Pemba et offre une expérience de vacances authentique dans un cadre naturel.

Avec un total de cinq cottages, le Pemba Lodge met l’accent sur la simplicité, la relaxation et l’harmonie avec l’environnement. Chacun de nos cottages a été soigneusement construit pour offrir un maximum de confort sous un climat tropical. Élevés sur des pilotis, tous les cottages sont bien ventilés, spacieux et construits avec des matériaux locaux, naturels et traditionnels africains. Ils offrent à nos clients une expérience confortable et authentique dans un cadre magnifique et isolé.

Pemba Eco Lodge Map

Séjour

  • Pemba Eco Lodge Pemba Hotel - Beach BungalowPemba Eco Lodge Beach Bungalow
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bedroom
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bathroom
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bungalow Balcony

Beach Bungalow

Chaque bungalow dispose d’un lit à baldaquin, d’une moustiquaire, d’un miroir en pied et d’une salle de bains attenante avec toilettes et eau chaude. Des meubles en bois de dhow récupéré, complètent chaque bungalow, y compris un canapé, un bureau et une chaise. Des feuilles de palmier tressées, des tapis de sol et des kangas colorés sont incorporés dans le décor, offrant une touche unique et une certaine originalité. Les bungalows peuvent généralement accueillir deux adultes, mais si une personne supplémentaire est réservée, un lit (simple) supplémentaire peut être inclus.
taux d’aujourd’hui $260 /double, petit-déjeuner inclus
  • Moustiquaire
  • Hot Water Eau chaude
  • Ceiling FAn Ventilateur
  • WIFI
  • En-suite
  • Room Safe Coffre-fort
  • jusqu'à 3 personnes
  • Double Bed Lit double
  • Single Bed Icon Lit simple (optionnel)
  • Pemba Eco Lodge - Johazi Bungalow
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bedroom
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bathroom
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bungalow Balcony

Johazi Family Bungalow

Le bungalow Johazi (dhow en swahili) est le plus grand logement de la propriété, avec 4 chambres réparties sur 2 étages. Il est situé le long du rivage, ce qui lui donne un excellent accès à la plage et en fait un excellent choix pour les groupes et les familles. Le balcon du premier étage offre une vue magnifique et la véranda du rez-de-chaussée, avec hamac et sièges, permet de se retirer l’après-midi. Toutes les chambres sont équipées d’un lit à baldaquin, d’une moustiquaire, d’un miroir en pied et d’une salle de bains attenante avec toilettes et eau chaude. Du bois de boutre récupéré a été utilisé pour meubler le bungalow, notamment un canapé, un bureau et une chaise. Les chambres individuelles peuvent être réservées sur la base d’un partage (selon la disponibilité).
taux d’aujourd’hui $260 /Chambre double, petit-déjeuner inclus
  • Moustiquaire
  • Hot Water Eau chaude
  • Ceiling FAn Ventilateur
  • WIFI
  • En-suite
  • Room Safe Coffre-fort
  • 4 persons jusqu'à 8 personnes
  • Double Bed 4 lits doubles
  • House Icon 2 étages

Information clé

Heures de réception
06:00 – 23:00
Arrivée / Départ
12:00 – 20:00jusqu’à 10h30
Navette aéroport
Disponible en supplément
Conditions relatives aux enfants
Les enfants de tous âges sont les bienvenus
Les personnes de plus de 11 ans sont considérées comme des adultes
Options de paiement
Cartes de crédit et espèces acceptées
Cartes acceptées Credit Cards
  • Pemba Getting There
  • Pemba Eco Lodge - Shamiani Island
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Catamaran
  • Pemba Lodge Boat Transfer

Comment s’y rendre

Plusieurs compagnies aériennes assurent la liaison entre Pemba, Zanzibar et Dar es Salaam. À votre arrivée, prenez un transfert de l’aéroport de Pemba au port local de Mpene au sud-est – environ 45 minutes à travers une belle campagne. Vous serez accueilli par un membre de notre équipe et vous prendrez un bateau de 15 à 30 minutes pour rejoindre l’île de Shamiani. En fonction des marées, vous débarquerez du bateau sur la belle plage devant le lodge ou, à marée basse, vous ferez une promenade de 10 à 20 minutes à travers de magnifiques paysages jusqu’au lodge.

Pour les clients de Zanzibar, il est possible de prendre un catamaran depuis la ville de Nungwi, au nord de l’île, pour rejoindre directement le lodge. Ce service est soumis à la disponibilité.

Offre spéciale

Pemba Eco Lodge Aerial View

Points forts de la loge

  • Un pavillon écologique engagé dans la conservation
  • Pavillon en bord de mer
  • Situation isolée
  • Eau chaude (énergie solaire)
  • WIFI

Dîner

  • Pemba Eco Lodge Beach Restaurant
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Beach Restaurant

Le restaurant

Le « cœur » du lodge est la combinaison du restaurant, du bar et du salon qui donne sur la baie pittoresque. Le restaurant sert des repas d’inspiration swahilie avec des options végétariennes disponibles. Les repas sont préparés avec des fruits et légumes biologiques et des fruits de mer fraîchement pêchés. Tous les produits proviennent d’agriculteurs et de pêcheurs locaux. Les herbes, épices et légumes frais sont récoltés directement dans les jardins locaux et les épices sont préparées sur l’île de Pemba.

Vivre

Se détendre et ne rien faire est un passe-temps populaire à Pemba Lodge. Cependant, lorsque vous avez eu votre dose de loisirs, il y a une variété d’activités, d’excursions et de lieux à visiter sur l’île et à distance de marche du lodge. Vous pourrez y découvrir de près les trésors naturels de Shamiani et la culture swahilie de l’archipel.

Pemba Lodge Beach

Récif local

À marée basse, le récif au large de l’île de Shamiani grouille de vie. Notre personnel se fera un plaisir de vous accompagner lors d’une promenade sur le récif et de vous expliquer tout ce que vous devez savoir sur l’écosystème autour de l’île. Ici, vous verrez les villageois locaux s’occuper des fermes d’algues et la vue imprenable sur le banc de sable à marée basse – qui ressemble à une scène désertique.

 

  • Pemba Lodge Location
  • Shamaini Island

Kayak

Utiliser nos kayaks fournis pour explorer le littoral de l’île et les criques de mangrove est un excellent moyen de voir tout ce que l’île a à offrir. Un guide sera sur place pour mettre en évidence divers oiseaux et points d’intérêt, ce qui en fera une approche agréable, calme et discrète pour explorer la nature.

 

Pemba Eco Lodge Boat Trip

Excursions de plongée en apnée et de pêche

Organisez une excursion en bateau vers les récifs voisins et explorez le monde sous-marin de l’océan Indien. Nous mettons gratuitement à votre disposition du matériel de plongée avec tuba.

Envie de vous essayer à la pêche ? Nous avons la possibilité de pêcher à la ligne traditionnelle, couramment utilisée par les pêcheurs locaux, et de pêcher en haute mer. En cas de réussite de votre prise, vous pouvez choisir de la faire préparer pour vous sur un barbecue pour un délicieux dîner.

 

  • Pemba Flying Foxes
  • Pemba Flying Foxes

Promenades dans la brousse et observation des oiseaux

De nombreuses promenades vous permettront de découvrir la nature relativement intacte de l’île. Avec des sentiers boisés sillonnant l’île, les promenades dans la brousse sont un excellent moyen d’en apprendre davantage sur la flore, la faune et la faune locales.

Différents types d’oiseaux et de renards volants de Pemba résident tous sur l’île et sont susceptibles d’être rencontrés lors de randonnées et tout au long de votre séjour au lodge. Le calao noir et blanc, l’attrape-mouches paradisiaque, les rouleaux, le kwarara, le pigeon aux yeux rouges, le martin-pêcheur pie, le sunbird, le mnana, la sterne pierregarin, la sterne minuscule et de nombreuses autres espèces ont été repérés par nos invités.

 

 

Pemba Eco Lodge Conservation

Écotourisme

À Pemba Lodge, nous nous efforçons de créer une expérience holistique et positive pour nos clients, qui, à leur tour, soutiennent la conservation de cette île unique et donnent à la population locale la possibilité d’acquérir de nouvelles compétences et de gagner sa vie.

Un pourcentage de nos revenus finance de futurs projets marins et environnementaux autour de l’île. Nous avons la chance d’avoir des tortues vertes et des tortues à écailles, deux espèces menacées, qui utilisent la plage du Pemba Lodge comme site de nidification. Dans le cadre de notre engagement en faveur de la conservation sur l’île, le Pemba Lodge a lancé une campagne en collaboration avec la communauté locale pour aider à protéger la population de tortues, qui diminue rapidement autour d’Unguja (Zanzibar) et de Pemba. Pour chaque tortue trouvée, nous payons une redevance en espèces, et en retour, la tortue est laissée seule pour nicher et retourner à la mer, et les œufs sont laissés éclore sans être dérangés.

Témoignages

  • Pemba Lodge

    8.8

    Pemba Lodge Booking.com Score

    « …situé sur une superbe plage de sable blanc… »- Septembre 2022

    Ce lodge écologique est situé sur une superbe plage de sable blanc aux eaux turquoise. Les bungalows de plage fonctionnent à l’énergie solaire, utilisent l’eau de pluie et des toilettes sèches (vraiment écologiques !). Une équipe charmante et accueillante, une cuisine swahilie délicieuse et un choix d’activités (plongée en apnée, kayak dans les mangroves, visites de la communauté locale, promenade intertidale et possibilité de voir des tortues de mer). Lieu idéal pour une visite en famille

  • Pemba Lodge

    8.8

    Pemba Lodge Booking.com Score

    « Notre séjour a été extraordinaire… » – Septembre 2022

    Cet hôtel était un rêve. La nourriture, la mer, la jungle et l’incroyable village de l’île où ils nous invitent à cuisiner avec eux et à découvrir leur culture. Notre séjour a été incroyable, et Omar est tout simplement le meilleur. MERCI Omar?
  • Pemba Lodge

    8.8

    Pemba Lodge Booking.com Score

    « Recommend, staff amazing, stunning setting! » Julliet 2022

    Un petit endroit absolument stupéfiant, un cadre incroyable, le personnel se surpasse pour vous satisfaire. La nourriture est absolument incroyable. Le personnel et la population locale sont si humbles, attentifs et authentiques. Le cadre est incroyable et constitue une retraite complète. La population locale est également très sympathique. Je reviendrai certainement.

  • Pemba Lodge

    8.8

    Pemba Lodge Booking.com Score

    « …..L’une des meilleures vacances que j’ai jamais eues – n’importe où. » – Février 2022

     

    Excellents repas, frais tous les jours, préparés rapidement, délicieux, tous provenant de l’île, en particulier le poisson quotidien apporté par les pêcheurs locaux. Le personnel est tout simplement agréable à côtoyer – gentil, très efficace, attentionné et attentif à tous vos besoins. Cet endroit est le paradis sur terre. Bien qu’il soit compliqué de s’y rendre en raison des marées, c’est ce qui rend cet endroit SUPERBE à tous égards. Il est calme, BEAU, immaculé, remarquablement géré, doux et sans prétention. Si vous voulez du clinquant et du luxe moderne, ce n’est PAS pour vous. Dieu merci, il existe encore des endroits comme celui-ci pour ceux d’entre nous qui apprécient la simplicité et les normes élevées.

  • Pemba Lodge

    8.8

    Pemba Lodge Booking.com Score

    « Shamiani est un paradis »Août 2022

    L’équipe d’hébergement est très bonne, amicale et calme. Toujours disponible. Les repas sont très bons et copieux. L’île est merveilleuse, loin des routes fréquentées. Les plages sont fantastiques – du sable blanc et fin comme je n’en avais jamais vu.

Skip to content
Pemba Eco Lodge

Welcome to

Pemba Lodge

Situated on the remote and beautiful Shamiani Island, Pemba Lodge is surrounded by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. A short boat ride south of the main island, this is Pemba’s first true eco-lodge and offers an authentic holiday experience in a natural setting.

With a total of five cottages, the emphasis at Pemba Lodge is on simplicity, relaxation and being at one with the environment. Each of our cottages has been carefully constructed to provide maximum comfort in the tropical climes. Raised on stilts, all cottages are well ventilated, spacious and constructed from local, natural and traditional African materials – providing our guests with a comfortable yet authentic experience in a beautiful secluded setting.

Pemba Eco Lodge Map

Stay

  • Pemba Eco Lodge Pemba Hotel - Beach BungalowPemba Eco Lodge Beach Bungalow
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bedroom
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bathroom
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Balcony

Beach Bungalow

Each bungalow has a four-poster bed, mosquito net, full-length mirror, and an ensuite bathroom with a toilet and hot water. Reclaimed dhow wood furniture, complete each bungalow including a sofa, desk and chair. Weaved palm leaves, floor mats, and colourful kangas are incorporated as décor throughout, offering a unique touch and some originality. Bungalows generally sleep two adults, however if an additional person is booked, an extra (single) bed can be included.
today’s rate $260 /double, inc breakfast
  • Mosquito Net
  • Hot Water Hot Water
  • Ceiling Fan Fan
  • WIFI
  • En-suite
  • Room Safe Room Safe
  • max three people up to 3 people
  • Double Bed Double Bed
  • Single Bed Icon Single bed (optional)
  • Pemba Eco Lodge - Johazi Bungalow
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bedroom
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Bathroom
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Balcony

Johazi Family Bungalow

Our single family bungalow, Johazi (dhow in Swahili), is the largest accommodation on the property, with 4 bedrooms across 2 floors, and is set along the shoreline, giving it excellent access to the beach and making it an excellent choice for groups and families. A first floor balcony offers excellent views and a ground floor veranda with hammock and seating make for a terrific afternoon retreat. All rooms have a four-poster bed, mosquito net, full-length mirror, and an ensuite bathroom with a toilet and hot water. Reclaimed dhow wood has been crafted to furnish the bungalow, including a sofa, desk and chair. Individual rooms can be booked on a sharing basis (depending on availability).
today’s rate $260 /double room, inc breakfast
  • Mosquito Net
  • Hot Water Hot Water
  • Ceiling Fan Fan
  • WIFI
  • En-suite
  • Room Safe Room Safe
  • 4 persons up to 8 people
  • Double Bed 4 double beds
  • House Icon 2 floors

Key Information

Reception Hours
06:00 – 23:00
Check in/out
12:00 – 20:00until 10:30
Airport Shuttle
Available as an additional charge
Children Policy
Children of all ages are welcome
11+ years are considered adults
Payment Options
Credit cards and cash accepted
Cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa and American Express Credit Cards
  • Pemba Getting There
  • Pemba Eco Lodge - Shamiani Island
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Catamaran
  • Pemba Lodge Boat Transfer

Getting There

There are multiple airlines that operate between Pemba, Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam. Upon your arrival, take a transfer from Pemba airport to the local port of Mpene on the south-east – approximately 45 mins through beautiful countryside. Here you will be greeted by a member of our team where you will take a 15 – 30 minute boat transfer to Shamiani Island. Depending on the tides you will either disembark the boat on the beautiful beach infront the lodge, or during low tide take a 10-20 minute walk through beautiful scenery to the lodge.

Alternatively for guests on Zanzibar, a catamaran can be charted from the town of Nungwi on the north of the island directly across to the lodge. This service is subject availability.

Special Offer

Pemba Eco Lodge Aerial View

Lodge Highlights

  • Eco-friendly lodge committed to conservation
  • Beachfront lodge
  • Secluded location
  • Hot Water (Solar Energy)
  • WIFI

Dine

  • Pemba Eco Lodge Beach Restaurant
  • Pemba Eco Lodge Beach Restaurant

Restaurant

The ‘Heart’ of the lodge is the combined restaurant, bar and lounge area which overlooks the scenic bay. The restaurant serves Swahili inspired meals with vegetarian options available. Meals are prepared using organic fruit, vegetables and freshly caught seafood. All produce is sourced from local farmers and fishermen, and the fresh herbs, spices and vegetables are harvested directly from local gardens and spices prepared on Pemba Island.

Experience

Relaxing and doing nothing is a popular pastime at Pemba Lodge. However, when you’ve had your fill of leisure, there are a variety of activities, excursions and places to visit on the island and within walking distance of the lodge. Here you’ll be able to get close and personal with Shamiani’s natural treasures and the archipelago’s Swahili culture.

Pemba Lodge Beach

Local Reef

During low tide the reef off Shamiani Island is teeming with life. Our staff will be delighted to accompany you on a reef walk and explain everything you need to know about the ecosystem around the island. Here you will see the local villagers tending the seaweed farms and the amazing sight of the sand bank at low tide – which resembles a desert scene.

 

  • Pemba Lodge Kayaking
  • Shamaini Island

Kayaking

Using our provided kayaks to explore the island’s shoreline and mangrove creeks is a great way to see all the island has to offer. A guide will be on hand to highlight various birds and points of interest, making this a delightful, quiet, and unobtrusive approach to explore nature.

 

Pemba Eco Lodge Boat Trip

Snorkelling & Fishing Excursions

Organise a boat trip out to neighbouring reefs and explore the underwater world of the Indian Ocean. We provide complimentary snorkelling equipment for you to use.

Fancy trying your hand at fishing? We have the option of traditional line fishing, commonly used by local fishermen, and deep sea fishing. Upon success of your catch, you can opt to have it prepared for you on a barbecue for a delicious dinner.

 

  • Pemba Flying Foxes
  • Pemba Flying Foxes

Bush Walks & Bird Watching

There are numerous walks you may take to discover the island’s relatively untouched nature. With woodland pathways crisscrossing the island, bush walks are a great way to learn about the local flora, fauna and wildlife.

Various types of birds and Pemba’s flying foxes all reside on the island and are likely to be encountered during hikes and throughout your stay at the lodge. The black and white hornbill, paradise fly catcher, rollers, kwarara, red-eyed pigeon, pied kingfisher, sunbird, mnana, common tern, tiny tern, and many other species have been spotted by our guests.

 

 

Pemba Eco Lodge Conservation

Eco Tourism

At Pemba Lodge we strive to create a holistic and positive experience for our guests, who in turn support the conservation of this unique island and provide the opportunity for local people to learn new skills and earn a living.

A percentage of our revenue fund future marine and environmental projects around the Island. We are fortunate to have both endangered Hawksbill and Green Turtles using the beach at Pemba Lodge for their nesting sites. As part of our commitment to conservation on the island, Pemba Lodge has entered into a campaign in conjunction with the local community to help protect the turtle population, which is fast declining around both Unguja (Zanzibar) and Pemba. For each turtle found we pay a cash fee, and in return the turtle is left alone to nest and go back to the sea, and the eggs are left to hatch without disturbance.

Testimonials

  • Pemba Lodge

    8.8

    Pemba Lodge Booking.com Score

    “…located at a stunning white sandy beach ..” – September 2022

    This eco lodge is located at a stunning white sandy beach with turquoise waters and the beach bungalows are solar powered, use rain water and dry toilets (truly eco friendly!). Lovely, welcoming team, delicious Swahili food and a range of activities to choose from (snorkelling, kayaking in the mangroves, visits to local community, intertidal walk and the chance to see sea turtles). Ideal place to visit as a family

  • Pemba Lodge

    4.6

    Pemba Lodge Google Score

    “…I never imagined it was so beautiful” December 2022

    I have been here in November 2022 with my wife for a weekend. A friend suggested this place to us, but I never imagined it was so beautiful. I state that I have been living in Zanzibar for more than a year with my family. it was just me, my wife and two other guests we didn’t know. We arrived late afternoon by boat, because it is on an island, the manager welcomed us very friendly, explaining everything and answering to our questions. Then he drove us to our bungalow. It was clean, simple but neat, and wide. it also has a terrace from which we could see the following day that there is an excellent view of the sea. The staff is friendly and the kitchen is super! Much better than the cuisine in hotels in Zanzibar. I suggest snorkelling at turtle bay, a small beach 10 minutes walk from the lodge, or by boat. There you can admire the beauty of colorful corals and underwater plants. Some are stinging.

  • Pemba Lodge

    4.6

    Pemba Lodge Google Score

    Heavenly place for an unforgettable honeymoon 🤩☀️” – November 2022

    Heavenly place for an unforgettable honeymoon 🤩☀️. The hotel and its setting is simply incredible: arriving at the hotel, we are speechless, it is so unrealistic. We are taken care of as soon as we leave the airport, the hotel takes care of everything. All the staff are adorable, polite, very caring without overdoing it and full of attention! Indeed, they remember what you loved to eat, what you prefer for breakfast, to best adapt to you and give you little culinary surprises 😁 By the way, from breakfast to lunch. and especially dinner, the food is amazing and never rushed. This is delicious. The “cabin” containing the bedroom is perfect, full of charm with all the amenities you need. Cleaning is done every day with seriousness and of course breathtaking views of the turquoise blue of the sea. The photos speak for themselves! Many activities are offered and there is no time to get bored. Deckchairs and hammocks are placed everywhere to promote long digestive naps and hours of reading facing the sea. In short, it was amazing, thank you for all these unforgettable moments and for your kindness 🤩

  • Pemba Lodge

    8.8

    Pemba Lodge Booking.com Score

    “Our stay was amazing…” – September 2022

    This hotel was a dream. The food, the sea, the jungle and the amazing village in the island where they invite us to cook with them and get to truly know their culture. Our stay was amazing, and Omar is simply the best. THANK YOU Omar?
  • Pemba Lodge

    8.8

    Pemba Lodge Booking.com Score

    “Shamiani is a paradise”August 2022

    The accommodation team is very good, friendly and quiet. Always available. The meals very good and plentiful. The island is wonderful, away from the busy roads. The beaches are fantastic – fine white sand as I hadn’t seen.